States where you can take the GED online
You can take the GED online in 42 states and Washington, DC. It is in person only in 6 states: Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Massachusetts, New York and West Virginia.
Each state’s conditions for testing online, such as a passing GED Ready practice score, are listed below with their source.
Check your state · Compare costs in every state
GED online: 42 states and Washington, DC
- Alabama
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36 online per-subject price. The page states a single $144 total and lists no other online fees. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score (145+) first, then 60 days to test. Online testers of any age must be Alabama residents. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Alaska
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36. The page does not state a total. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires GED Ready before the online exam. Subjects must be scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Arizona
- Online, all 4 subjects: Not confirmedSame reason as the in-person total: Civics test fee not confirmed from an official source.Online testing: YesRequires GED Ready before the online exam. Arizona Civics test (70%) is also required for the diploma. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Arkansas
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144The GED page states $144 for online (equals 4 x $36). Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires GED Ready before the online exam. In-person also requires GED Ready before scheduling. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- California
- Online, all 4 subjects: $164Calculated: 4 x $41. The page does not state a total. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires GED Ready first. Military IDs not accepted for online proctored testing. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Colorado
- Online, all 4 subjects: $174Calculated: 4 x $43.50. Source gives per-subject price only and lists no other fees for a first attempt. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires a GED Ready practice test first; subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Delaware
- Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score; schedule within 60 days of that score; subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Georgia
- Online, all 4 subjects: $184Calculated: 4 x $46. No total is stated by an official source. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Idaho
- Online, all 4 subjects: Not confirmedged.com Idaho page says $144 online (matches 4 x $36) but no separate official total confirmed alongside the in-person conflict; left unverified.Online testing: YesRequires GED Ready practice test first; subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Indiana
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36. No official total stated. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesPage says online testing restrictions apply and points to the GED student portal; requires GED Ready first, one subject at a time. Online price listed at $36. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Kansas
- Online testing: YesRequires approval: must be enrolled in a WIOA Title II adult education program (or contact a local WIOA Title I program), plus a green GED Ready score from the last 60 days. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Louisiana
- Online testing: YesMust pass GED Ready first for each subject's first attempt. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Maryland
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36. Not stated as a total by an official source. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score (145+) within 60 days of testing. Subjects scheduled one at a time. Military IDs not accepted for online testing. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Michigan
- Online testing: YesRequires passing GED Ready first; subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Minnesota
- Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score; subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Mississippi
- Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score from the last 60 days. The state-paid GED voucher does not cover online testing. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Missouri
- Online, all 4 subjects: $154Calculated: 4 x $36 + one $10 yearly state fee. Not stated as a total by the source. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Montana
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36; no other online fees listed. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Nebraska
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36; no other fees listed. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Nevada
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36; no other fees listed. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesGED Ready required before the online exam; minimum age to test online is 18. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- New Hampshire
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36; no other fees listed. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- New Jersey
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: $36 x 4 subjects. The page states only per-subject prices. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires a 'Likely to Pass' (green) GED Ready score for each subject, scheduled within 60 days of that score. Webcam and reliable internet needed; all subjects cannot be taken on the same day online. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- New Mexico
- Online, all 4 subjects: Not confirmedPage 'Budget for the Test' lists $172 online, which does not clearly match $36 x 4 ($144). Total not given because of this conflict. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesA GED Ready practice test is required first; exams are scheduled one at a time. Needs a computer with webcam and stable internet. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- North Carolina
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: $36 x 4 subjects. The page states only per-subject prices. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score first; subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- North Dakota
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: $36 x 4 subjects. The page states only per-subject prices. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score first, scheduled within 60 days; subjects scheduled one at a time; appointments available 24/7. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Ohio
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Page lists $144 for online without stating the subject count; equals 4 x $36. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score first; each subject scheduled separately. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Oklahoma
- Online, all 4 subjects: Not confirmedThe GED page states $160 for online, which does not equal 4 x $41 = $164. Left unverified because the page contradicts itself.Online testing: YesRequires passing GED Ready first; subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Oregon
- Online, all 4 subjects: $176Calculated: 4 x $44. No total is stated. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires green GED Ready score; subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Pennsylvania
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36; no total stated. List price before the state-funded voucher. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires green GED Ready score within the last 60 days; subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Rhode Island
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36; no total stated. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score within the last 60 days for each subject; each subject scheduled separately. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- South Carolina
- Online, all 4 subjects: $174Calculated: 4 x $43.50. The page states no total; no other first-attempt fees were listed. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires a green (passing) GED Ready score first, scheduled within 60 days of that score. Subjects are scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- South Dakota
- Online, all 4 subjects: $200Calculated: 4 x $50. The page states no total; no other first-attempt fees were listed. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score within the last 60 days for each subject. Subjects are scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Tennessee
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144All 4 subjects; total stated on the page. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires taking the GED Ready practice test first. Subjects are scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Texas
- Online testing: YesRequires a passing (green) GED Ready score first. Under-18s need a parent or guardian present at check-in. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Utah
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36. The page states no total; no other first-attempt fees were listed. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesPage says to test online in Utah, contact your local prep center. Requires a 'likely to pass' GED Ready score first. Subjects are scheduled separately. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Vermont
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36. The page states no total; no other first-attempt fees were listed. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesCan be scheduled 24/7. Requires a green GED Ready score first. Subjects are scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Virginia
- Online, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 subjects x $36. No other fees listed on the page. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesRequires a passing score on the Virginia GED Ready practice test first. Subjects must be scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Washington
- Online, all 4 subjects: Not confirmedNot stated by an official source; same SBCTC $144 vs $120 conflict as the in-person total.Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score and scheduling within 60 days of passing it. Subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Washington, DC
- Online testing: YesRequires a green GED Ready score, a private room, webcam and government ID. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Wisconsin
- Online, all 4 subjects: Not confirmedSame as in-person total: no official total found; Civics fee unconfirmed.Online testing: YesRequires completing an online class and a green Wisconsin GED Ready score, plus government ID, private workspace, webcam and reliable internet. Subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Wyoming
- Online, all 4 subjects: $104Same page states $104 applies to virtual testing too. The $104 includes 4 GED Ready practice tests at $6 (exams alone: 4 x $20). Source: communitycolleges.wy.edu, checked 2026-10-10Online testing: YesPage says online testing is available after a green GED Ready score, within 60 days. The ged.com price-list JSON marks Wyoming 'datanoonline: true', which conflicts; the state page https://communitycolleges.wy.edu/hsec-wyoming also says virtual testing is offered for 18+. Recheck. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
In person only: 6 states
- Connecticut
- In person, all 4 subjects: $13$13 one-time registration fee (includes the diploma); subject tests are $0. Verifier 2026-10-10: the cited page does not state who is exempt. Unconfirmed lead (search snippet only): https://portal.ct.gov/sde/adult-ed/ged/getting-a-ged-in-connecticut/register says veterans and under-21s pay $0. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Florida
- In person, all 4 subjects: $152Calculated: 4 x $38. Source gives per-subject price only; no other first-attempt fees listed. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Hawaii
- In person, all 4 subjects: $174Page states $174 for the full test at a test center. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- Massachusetts
- In person, all 4 subjects: $144Calculated: 4 x $36, no other fees listed. Not stated as a total by an official source. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- New York
- In person, all 4 subjects: FreeAll 4 subjects; no fee listed for any subtest at a test center. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
- West Virginia
- In person, all 4 subjects: FreeAll 4 subjects free to the test taker; retakes also free. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
No GED: 2 states use the HiSET instead
Only values confirmed from an official source are counted. “Not confirmed” means we could not confirm it, so check with the state.