Not an official source — always confirm with your state before booking. Data checked 2026-10-10 to 2026-10-11.

GED in Washington

In Washington the GED price is not confirmed, minimum age 19.

Check online testing and cost · Compare all states

How Washington compares

GED, all 4 subjects in person

Washington is not ranked (GED, all 4 subjects in person) because its price is not confirmed from an official source.

The national median is $144 (42 states with a confirmed price, range $0 to $200).

GED, all 4 subjects online

Washington is not ranked (GED, all 4 subjects online) because its price is not confirmed from an official source.

The national median is $144 (37 states with a confirmed price, range $104 to $200).

Rankings use only prices confirmed from an official source. Neighboring states come from the US Census county adjacency file.

Which test you can take

Tests accepted
GEDWashington is not listed on https://hiset.org/get-started/state-requirements/ (checked 2026-10-10). Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
Credential awarded
Certificate of Educational CompetencySource: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Cost

GED, all 4 subjects in person
Not confirmedNot stated by an official source. $36 x 4 = $144 would be the calculation, but the SBCTC page (https://www.sbctc.edu/becoming-a-student/basic-education/ged-students.aspx) also lists $120 for all four tests, so left blank pending confirmation.
GED, one subject in person
$36Also $36.00 in https://www.ged.com/etc/clientlibs/websites/ged/assets/resources/dropdown-json/dropdown-price-and-rules.json. The state page https://www.sbctc.edu/becoming-a-student/basic-education/ged-students.aspx says $36 in one place but also lists $30 per test / $120 for four, so it conflicts internally. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, all 4 subjects online
Not confirmedNot stated by an official source; same SBCTC $144 vs $120 conflict as the in-person total.
GED, one subject online
$36Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
Ways to pay less
In person: one discounted retake per subject not passed, within 365 days of the full-price test (GED Testing Service waives its $26 fee; Washington charges a $10 test center fee). Online retakes cost $36 with no discount. One free electronic diploma and one free electronic transcript after passing.No state voucher or tuition waiver for the test fee was found. Searched ged.com and sbctc.edu; the SBCTC GED student page does not mention a waiver. A separate SBCTC page on ABE/ESL/GED tuition waivers (class tuition) was not opened. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Online testing

GED online at home
YesRequires a green GED Ready score and scheduling within 60 days of passing it. Subjects scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Age

Minimum age
19Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
Under the minimum age
Test takers aged 16 to 18 must show they are not enrolled in a high school program. Exceptions listed include students in a military program, incarcerated students, and students in the Washington Options Program (Open Doors). SBCTC says ages 16-18 need an approval form: traditional high school students use an 'Approval to Test' form, home-schooled students a notarized statement. Online testers under 19 need a parent or guardian present at check-in.Approval form detail is from https://www.sbctc.edu/becoming-a-student/basic-education/ged-students.aspx Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Residency

Residency rule
Must be a Washington resident at the time of testing. If photo ID is not from Washington, documentation of a Washington address is needed.Non-Washington ID detail is from https://www.sbctc.edu/becoming-a-student/basic-education/ged-students.aspx Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Retakes

Retake policy
In person: no wait for the first two retakes of a subject; after three attempts, a 60-day wait; no yearly limit. Online: one retake before a 60-day wait (after two online attempts). One discounted in-person retake per subject not passed within 365 days, with a $10 test center fee; online retakes cost $36.Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Sources