Not an official source — always confirm with your state before booking. Data checked 2026-10-10 to 2026-10-11.

GED and HiSET in California

In California the GED costs $164 in person or online and the HiSET costs $190, minimum age 18.

Check online testing and cost · Compare all states

How California compares

GED, all 4 subjects in person

At $164, California (GED, all 4 subjects in person) is cheaper than 7 states and more expensive than 34 states.

That is $20 above the national median. The national median is $144 (42 states with a confirmed price, range $0 to $200).

Compared with California, it is cheaper in Nevada ($124); more expensive in Oregon ($176).

GED, all 4 subjects online

At $164, California (GED, all 4 subjects online) is cheaper than 7 states and more expensive than 29 states.

That is $20 above the national median. The national median is $144 (37 states with a confirmed price, range $104 to $200).

Compared with California, it is cheaper in Nevada ($144); more expensive in Oregon ($176).

HiSET, all 5 subtests

At $190, California (HiSET, all 5 subtests) is more expensive than 20 states.

That is $60 above the national median. The national median is $130 (21 states with a confirmed price, range $0 to $190).

Compared with California, it is cheaper in Nevada ($115).

Rankings use only prices confirmed from an official source. Neighboring states come from the US Census county adjacency file.

Which test you can take

Tests accepted
GED and HiSETCalifornia is listed on the HiSET state page (also a separate 'California Proficiency' entry at https://hiset.org/california-proficiency/, not researched). GED confirmed at https://www.ged.com/policies/california.html. Source: hiset.org, checked 2026-10-10
Credential awarded
California High School Equivalency Certificatehiset.org/california/ describes the result only as a high school equivalency credential without naming it. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Cost

GED, all 4 subjects in person
$164Calculated: 4 x $41. The page gives a flat per-subject price and lists no other fees for first attempts; it does not state a total. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, one subject in person
$41Matches GED price JSON (dataipprice $41.00): https://www.ged.com/etc/clientlibs/websites/ged/assets/resources/dropdown-json/dropdown-price-and-rules.json Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, all 4 subjects online
$164Calculated: 4 x $41. The page does not state a total. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, one subject online
$41Matches GED price JSON (dataOnlineprice $41.00). Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
HiSET, all 5 subtests
$190All 5 subtests, test center, no retakes, as stated by HiSET. Test @ Home total is $235; Long Beach/LAUSD $210. Source: hiset.org, checked 2026-10-10
HiSET, one subtest
$34Paper or computer at a test center, general California price (first subtest booked $54 because of a one-time $20 state admin fee). Test @ Home is $43 per subtest ($54.50 first). Long Beach School for Adults and LAUSD charge $38 ($58 first). Source: hiset.org, checked 2026-10-10
Ways to pay less
GED: in person only, one discounted retake per subject not passed within 365 days (GED Testing Service waives its $26 fee; $15 California test center fee); not available online. HiSET: fee waiver for students under 25 certified as homeless youth or foster youth (Education Code Section 48412), covering test administration fees but not accommodation documentation or prep.GED discounted-retake detail from https://www.ged.com/policies/california.html. No state-funded GED voucher found on the GED page. Source: hiset.org, checked 2026-10-10

Online testing

GED online at home
YesRequires GED Ready first. Military IDs not accepted for online proctored testing. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
HiSET at home
YesTest @ Home, remote proctored. Source: hiset.org, checked 2026-10-10

Age

Minimum age
18HiSET also uses 18 or older, with exceptions listed in underage_exceptions. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
Under the minimum age
GED: under-18s may test if within 60 days of their 18th birthday; or within 60 days of when they would have graduated and not enrolled in high school; or 17, out of school at least 60 consecutive days, with a request letter from the military, a postsecondary institution or a prospective employer. Online testing under 18 needs an approved California Department of Education waiver and a parent or guardian at check-in. HiSET: 18+, or not currently enrolled in high school, or 17 and confined to a state or county hospital or institution, or 17 and in a dropout recovery program; Chula Vista Adult School, Long Beach School for Adults and LAUSD may have different requirements.HiSET age rules from https://hiset.org/california/. Candidates must be 18 to receive the GED certificate. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Residency

Residency rule
Must be a California resident or a member of the armed forces assigned to duty in California. If the photo ID does not show a California address, bring one proof document (such as a lease, utility bill or tax return) or complete the California Declaration of Residency. Without proof you cannot test and forfeit the fee. Same residency rule applies to HiSET.HiSET residency from https://hiset.org/california/. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Retakes

Retake policy
GED test center: no wait for the first two retakes, then a 60-day wait after three attempts in a subject; one discounted retake per subject not passed within 365 days plus a $15 California test center fee. GED online: one retake before a 60-day wait; online retakes cost $41 with no discount. HiSET: each subtest may be taken a maximum of 3 times in 6 months (periods Jan 1-Jun 30 and Jul 1-Dec 31); retakes cost only the test center fee or the $23 at-home proctor fee, with the full test fee applying only to the first and fourth attempts.HiSET retake details from https://hiset.org/california/. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Sources