Not an official source — always confirm with your state before booking. Data checked 2026-10-10 to 2026-10-11.

GED in Alaska

In Alaska the GED costs $144 in person or online, minimum age 18.

Check online testing and cost · Compare all states

How Alaska compares

GED, all 4 subjects in person

At $144, Alaska (GED, all 4 subjects in person) is cheaper than 14 states, the same price as 18 states and more expensive than 9 states.

That is exactly the national median. The national median is $144 (42 states with a confirmed price, range $0 to $200).

Alaska has no land or water border with another state, so there are no neighbors to compare.

GED, all 4 subjects online

At $144, Alaska (GED, all 4 subjects online) is cheaper than 10 states, the same price as 25 states and more expensive than 1 state.

That is exactly the national median. The national median is $144 (37 states with a confirmed price, range $104 to $200).

Alaska has no land or water border with another state, so there are no neighbors to compare.

Rankings use only prices confirmed from an official source. Neighboring states come from the US Census county adjacency file.

Which test you can take

Tests accepted
GEDAlaska is not listed on https://hiset.org/get-started/state-requirements/ (checked 2026-10-10). Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
Credential awarded
State of Alaska High School Diploma By ExaminationSource: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Cost

GED, all 4 subjects in person
$144Calculated: 4 x $36. The page gives clear per-subject pricing and lists no other fees for first attempts; it does not state a total. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, one subject in person
$36Matches GED price JSON (dataipprice $36.00): https://www.ged.com/etc/clientlibs/websites/ged/assets/resources/dropdown-json/dropdown-price-and-rules.json. Alaska pays the first attempt per subject while funding lasts. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, all 4 subjects online
$144Calculated: 4 x $36. The page does not state a total. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, one subject online
$36Matches GED price JSON (dataOnlineprice $36.00). Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
Ways to pay less
Alaska pays for your first GED test in each subject while funding lasts. In person: one discounted retake per subject not passed within 365 days ($10 test center fee). One free electronic diploma and transcript after passing.Funding is limited; terms are linked from the GED page. State education department page not separately checked. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Online testing

GED online at home
YesRequires GED Ready before the online exam. Subjects must be scheduled one at a time. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Age

Minimum age
18Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
Under the minimum age
16- and 17-year-olds may test with one of: a withdrawal slip from the last Alaska school attended, a legal emancipation document, or written parent or guardian permission. Online testers under 18 need a parent or guardian present at check-in.Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Residency

Residency rule
No residency requirement.Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Retakes

Retake policy
In person: no wait for the first two retakes, then a 60-day wait after three attempts in a subject; no yearly limit. One discounted retake per subject not passed within 365 days plus a $10 test center fee. Online: one retake before a 60-day wait; online retakes cost $36 with no discount.Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Sources