Not an official source — always confirm with your state before booking. Data checked 2026-10-10 to 2026-10-11.

GED and HiSET in Missouri

In Missouri the GED costs $142 in person or $154 online and the HiSET costs $120, minimum age 17.

Check online testing and cost · Compare all states

How Missouri compares

GED, all 4 subjects in person

At $142, Missouri (GED, all 4 subjects in person) is cheaper than 33 states and more expensive than 8 states.

That is $2 below the national median. The national median is $144 (42 states with a confirmed price, range $0 to $200).

Compared with Missouri, it is cheaper in Arkansas ($16); more expensive in Illinois ($144), Kansas ($156), Kentucky ($144), Nebraska ($144) and Tennessee ($144).

GED, all 4 subjects online

At $154, Missouri (GED, all 4 subjects online) is cheaper than 9 states and more expensive than 27 states.

That is $10 above the national median. The national median is $144 (37 states with a confirmed price, range $104 to $200).

Compared with Missouri, it is cheaper in Arkansas ($144), Illinois ($144), Kentucky ($144), Nebraska ($144) and Tennessee ($144); more expensive in Kansas ($156).

HiSET, all 5 subtests

At $120, Missouri (HiSET, all 5 subtests) is cheaper than 12 states, the same price as 1 state and more expensive than 7 states.

That is $10 below the national median. The national median is $130 (21 states with a confirmed price, range $0 to $190).

Compared with Missouri, it is cheaper in Iowa ($90) and Tennessee ($115); more expensive in Illinois ($130) and Oklahoma ($165).

Rankings use only prices confirmed from an official source. Neighboring states come from the US Census county adjacency file.

Which test you can take

Tests accepted
GED and HiSETMissouri is listed on the HiSET state requirements page; GED policy page https://www.ged.com/policies/missouri.html also exists. Source: hiset.org, checked 2026-10-10
Credential awarded
Certificate of High School EquivalenceSource: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Cost

GED, all 4 subjects in person
$142Calculated: 4 x $33 + one $10 yearly state fee. Not stated as a total by the source. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, one subject in person
$33Excludes the separate $10 yearly Missouri state fee. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, all 4 subjects online
$154Calculated: 4 x $36 + one $10 yearly state fee. Not stated as a total by the source. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, one subject online
$36Excludes the separate $10 yearly Missouri state fee. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
HiSET, all 5 subtests
$120Paper/computer, all 5 subtests, no retakes, one calendar year, includes $10 state fee. @Home total is $172.50. Source: hiset.org, checked 2026-10-10
HiSET, one subtest
$22Paper or computer. First subtest booked is $32 because it includes the $10 state administration fee (charged once every 12 months). @Home remote is $32.50 per subtest ($42.50 for the first). Source: hiset.org, checked 2026-10-10
Ways to pay less
GED in-person: one discounted retake per subject not passed, used within 365 days (GED Testing Service waives its $26 fee, $7 test center fee applies). No discounted retakes for online GED. Adult Education and Literacy programs often offer free classes. One free certificate and one free transcript after passing via DiplomaSender.com. The HiSET page lists no vouchers or reduced-cost programs.HiSET page https://hiset.org/missouri/ checked; no reduced-cost programs listed. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Online testing

GED online at home
YesMust first pass GED Ready for each subject. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
HiSET at home
YesHiSET @Home, remote proctored. Source: hiset.org, checked 2026-10-10

Age

Minimum age
17HiSET page also states 17 or older: https://hiset.org/missouri/ Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
Under the minimum age
Under 17: must apply for an age waiver (Missouri HSE Test Age Waiver Application) approved by the Missouri HSE Office after meeting one of the State Board of Education conditions. Under-17 applicants may need parental consent and extra documentation. Missouri Option Program participants follow a separate age waiver process. HiSET: same age waiver rule; if no waiver condition applies, you cannot be approved.HiSET wording from https://hiset.org/missouri/ Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Residency

Residency rule
Must have a Missouri mailing address; residency must be proven on exam day with a government-issued photo ID. HiSET: must be a Missouri resident with a Missouri mailing address.HiSET wording from https://hiset.org/missouri/ Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Retakes

Retake policy
GED in-person: no wait after a first failed subject; after three attempts on a subject, a 60-day wait. GED online: one retake before a 60-day wait. HiSET: each subtest up to 6 times per calendar year; retakes cost only the test center fee (or $17.50 at-home proctor fee); full test fee applies only to the first and fourth attempts.HiSET wording from https://hiset.org/missouri/ Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Sources