Not an official source — always confirm with your state before booking. Data checked 2026-10-10 to 2026-10-11.

GED in Maryland

In Maryland the GED costs $144 in person or online, minimum age 18.

Check online testing and cost · Compare all states

How Maryland compares

GED, all 4 subjects in person

At $144, Maryland (GED, all 4 subjects in person) is cheaper than 14 states, the same price as 18 states and more expensive than 9 states.

That is exactly the national median. The national median is $144 (42 states with a confirmed price, range $0 to $200).

Compared with Maryland, it is cheaper in West Virginia ($0); the same in Delaware ($144), Pennsylvania ($144) and Virginia ($144); more expensive in District of Columbia ($159).

GED, all 4 subjects online

At $144, Maryland (GED, all 4 subjects online) is cheaper than 10 states, the same price as 25 states and more expensive than 1 state.

That is exactly the national median. The national median is $144 (37 states with a confirmed price, range $104 to $200).

Compared with Maryland, it is the same in Delaware ($144), District of Columbia ($144), Pennsylvania ($144) and Virginia ($144).

Rankings use only prices confirmed from an official source. Neighboring states come from the US Census county adjacency file.

Which test you can take

Tests accepted
GEDMaryland is not listed on https://hiset.org/get-started/state-requirements/ (checked 2026-10-10). Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
Credential awarded
Maryland High School DiplomaSource: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Cost

GED, all 4 subjects in person
$144Calculated: 4 x $36. No other fees listed on the page. Not stated as a total by an official source. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, one subject in person
$36Full price before state subsidy; see reduced_cost_options. Also stated on https://www.ged.com/policies/maryland.html. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, all 4 subjects online
$144Calculated: 4 x $36. Not stated as a total by an official source. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
GED, one subject online
$36Full price before state subsidy. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
Ways to pay less
Maryland subsidizes $21.75 per subject on the first attempt: pay $14.25 per subject using code MDGED2175 at checkout, at test centers and online. The page says the voucher can be used four times in total. Retests are not subsidized.The page is inconsistent about retake pricing (mentions a reduced $10 retake but also says online retakes are $36). Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Online testing

GED online at home
YesRequires a green GED Ready score (145+) within 60 days of testing. Subjects scheduled one at a time. Military IDs not accepted for online testing. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Age

Minimum age
18Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10
Under the minimum age
16- and 17-year-olds may test with proof of official withdrawal from school (Maryland public or private) or a Maryland home-instruction verification form, signed and embossed or sealed, submitted to the Maryland GED office (ged.dllr@maryland.gov). Registration continues once the office approves it. Online school and homeschool students qualify with similar documentation.Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Residency

Residency rule
Must be a Maryland resident: Maryland MVA driver's license, permit or ID, active-duty military dependent ID, or current passport, plus proof of Maryland residency. Cannot hold a high school diploma or be enrolled in a high school program while testing.The page words the residency restriction ambiguously. Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Retakes

Retake policy
Test center: two retests with no wait, then a 60-day wait after the third failed attempt. Online: one retake, then a 60-day wait; online retakes cost $36. Retests are not subsidized.Source: ged.com, checked 2026-10-10

Sources